Faculty and Staff by department

AFRICAN LANGUAGES AND LITERATURE

Dustin Cowell
Professor
African Languages and Literature
Office Phone: 262-5886
Email: dccowell@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Arabic Language and Literature; Medieval Arabic Poetry and Hispano-Arabic Studies. Research in Tunisia, Mauritania and Egypt.

Samuel England
Assistant Professor
Email: sengland2@wisc.edu
Website
Aca­d­e­mic research inter­ests: Classical Ara­bic poetry, creative prose, and rhetoric; medieval court cultures of the Middle East and the western Mediterranean; modern Arabic literature; al-Andalus and Spain. Research in Egypt, the Maghreb, Spain, and Turkey.

John Nimis
Assistant Professor
Email: jnimis@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Congolese Popular Music; African Literature; Francophone Africa; Literary and Music Theory; Cinema and Popular Culture; research in Democratic Republic of Congo.

Seth Ofori
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 262-6939
Website
Email: saofori@wisc.edu
Academic research interests: African linguistics. Akan literature and language. Research in Ghana.

Tejumola Olaniyan
Professor
English
Office Phone: 262-8168
Email: tolaniyan@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: African and African diaspora literature. Literary theory. Research in the African diaspora.

Aliko Songolo
Professor
Office Phone: 262-6984/263-3891
Email: asongolo@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Francophone African, Caribbean, and Swahili literatures. African cinema, literary theory. Research in Tanzania and in francophone Africa including Cameroon, Burundi, Rwanda, Senegal, Congo, and the Caribbean.

Katrina Thompson
Associate Professor
Email: kdthomp3@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: African languages, popular verbal arts, critical discourse studies, language socialization, gender and sexuality, Islam, LCTL pedagogy, learner autonomy. Research in Zimbabwe, Tanzania, and Kenya.

Anne Waliaula
Lecturer
Email: awaliaula@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Social studies, global education, multicultural and African studies.

AFRICAN STUDIES PROGRAM

James Delehanty
Distinguished Faculty Associate
Office Phone: 262-4458
Email: jmdeleha@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Historical geography, cultural ecology, land use change in Africa. Research in Niger and Kenya.

Catherine A. Reiland
Assistant Director
Office Phone: 608.262.4461
Email: creiland@wisc.edu
Academic research interests: Religious performance, tourist productions, memory, and visual culture.

Anne Waliaula
Outreach Specialist
Office Phone: 265-9151
Email: awaliaula@wisc.edu
Academic research interests: Social studies, global education, multicultural and African studies.

AFRO-AMERICAN STUDIES

Sandra Adell
Professor
Office Phone: 263-1642
Email: saadell@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Black literature, modern narrative, literary theory and criticism, continental French literature and philosophy of the twentieth century.

Henry Drewal
Professor
Art History
Office Phone: 263-9362
Email: hjdrewal@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: African and African Diaspora art, artistic traditions of the African diaspora in Brazil. Research in Nigeria, South Africa, Benin, Togo, Senegal, Brazil, Cuba, Puerto Rico, and India

AGRICULTURAL AND APPLIED ECONOMICS

Jean-Paul Chavas
Professor
Office Phone: 261-1944
Email: jchavas@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Food policy reform. Research in Burkina Faso, Madagascar, Tunisia

Jeremy Foltz
Professor
Office Phone: 262-6871
Email: jdfoltz@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Macroeconomics of technology adoption, agricultural biotechnology, property rights, land use, and economic development. Research in Tunisia.

ANIMAL SCIENCE

Jess Reed
Professor
Office Phone: 263-4310
Email: reed@calshp.cals.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Livestock and crop production in agricultural development. Research in Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Gambia, and Zimbabwe.

ANTHROPOLOGY

Henry Bunn
Professor
Office Phone: 263-6854
Email: htbunn@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Human culture, archeology. Paleontological and archeological research in Kenya, Tanzania, Botswana, and Somalia.

Larry Nesper
Professor
Office Phone: 265-1992
Email: lnesper@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Research in culture and identity, ethnicity, ethnohistory, political and legal anthropology, social and religious movements. Research in Senegal.

Travis Pickering
Professor
Office Phone: 262-5818
Email: tpickering@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Ecology and evolutionary biology of early hominids in South and East Africa. Research in South Africa, Tanzania, Ethiopia.

Claire Wendland
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 262-3874
Email: cwendland@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Biomedicine in non-Western setting, cross-cultural ethics and communication. Research in Malawi.

ART HISTORY

Henry Drewal
Professor
Office Phone: 263-9362
Email: hjdrewal@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: African and African Diaspora art, artistic traditions of the African diaspora in Brazil. Research in Nigeria, South Africa, Benin, Togo, Senegal, Brazil, Cuba, Puerto Rico, and India

ASTRONOMY

Eric Wilcots
Professor
Office Phone: 262-2364/262-3071
Email: ewilcots@astro.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Southern African Large Telescope (SALT). Research in South Africa.

BIOCHEMISTRY

James Mukasa Ntambi
Professor
Office Phone: 265-3700
Email: ntambi@biochem.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Human and animal nutrition. Research in Uganda.

BOTANY

Don Waller
Professor
Office: (608) 263-2042
Email: dmwaller@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Conservation biology; international education and research; monitoring of ecological conditions, particularly in Central Africa (Cameroon, Gabon, and DRC).

CIVIL & ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING

Paul Block
Assistant Professor
Civil & Environmental Engineering

COMMUNICATION ARTS

Kelley Conway
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 263-3977
Email: kelleyconway@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Francophone film, gender and cinema, African film.

Jonathan Gray
Professor
Office Phone: 263-2541
Email: jagray3@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Film, television, and music circulation and reception in Malawi

COMMUNITY & ENVIRONMENTAL SOCIOLOGY

Josh Garoon
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 890-0981
Email: garoon@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Environmental determinants of health; community and economic development; biodiversity conservation and management. Research in Zambia.

CONSUMER SCIENCE

Cynthia Jasper
Professor
Department of Consumer Science
Office Phone: 262-2384
Email: crjasper@wisc.edu
Website

CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION

Margaret Hawkins
Professor
Office Phone: 263-4667
Email: mhawkins@education.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Sociocultural and sociopolitical approaches to languages and literacy.

Gloria Ladson-Billings
Professor
Office Phone: 263-1006
Email: gjladson@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Multicultural education. Social studies in elementary education

Thomas Popkewitz
Professor
Office Phone: 263-7343
Email: tspopkew@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Educational research and evaluation, educational reform/change, curriculum theory, teacher education. Research in South Africa.

DESIGN STUDIES

Mary A Hark
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 262-2651
Email: hark@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Fiber/Textile design. Research in Ghana

EDUCATIONAL POLICY STUDIES

Nancy Kendall
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 262-1760
Email: nkendall@education.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Comparative education; education and democratization; gender studies; HIV/AIDS education. Research in Malawi and Zimbabwe.

Amy Stambach
Professor
Office Phone: 262-1714
Email: aestambach@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Gender and educational policy; cultural analyses; comparative and international education. Research in Tanzania.

ENGLISH

Anne McClintock
Professor
Office Phone: 263-1102
Email: amcclintock@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Gender studies and theories of sexuality; colonial and postcolonial literature and culture; world literature. South Africa.

Rob Nixon
Professor
Office Phone: 263-3005
Email: rdnixon@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Postcolonial literatures and theory; nonfiction; African literature; cultural studies; environmentalism; literature on empire; critical theory. Research in South Africa.

Tejumola Olaniyan
Professor
Office Phone: 262-8168
Email: tolaniyan@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: African and African diaspora literature. Literary theory. Research in the African diaspora.

Nirvana Tanoukhi
Assistant Professor
Email: tanoukhi@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: The African Novel, Postcolonial Literature, History and Theory of the Novel, Narrative Theory, Literary Geography, Formalisms and Contextualisms, Comparison

FRENCH AND ITALIAN

Nevine El-Nossery
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 262-7940
Email: elnossery@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Francophone literatures and postcolonial studies; French Canadian literature; women and exile. Research on North Africa.

Aliko Songolo
Professor
Office Phone: 262-6984/263-3891
Email: asongolo@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Francophone African, Caribbean, and Swahili literatures. African cinema, literary theory. Research in Tanzania and in francophone Africa including Cameroon, Burundi, Rwanda, Senegal, Congo, and the Caribbean.

GENDER & WOMEN’S STUDIES

Pernille Ipsen
Assistant Professor
Email: pipsen@wisc.edu
Academic research interests: West Africa and cultural encounters in the early modern Atlantic world, Atlantic slave trade, race, gender and women’s history.

Keisha Lindsay
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 263-2763
Email: knlindsay@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: black masculinity, intersectionality, black feminism, Caribbean politics

Aili Tripp
Professor
Office Phone: 263-1873
Email: atripp@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Comparative politics (Africa), gender and politics. Research in Tanzania, Uganda, Liberia and Angola.

GEOGRAPHY

Lisa Naughton
Professor
Office Phone: 262-4846
Email: lnaughto@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Forest and wildlife conservation and management policy. Research in Uganda and Kenya.

Matthew Turner
Professor
Office Phone: 262-2465/262-3657
Email: turner@geography.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Biogeography, cultural ecology, rangelands and livestock production systems in Africa. Research in Mali and Niger.

HISTORY

Florence Bernault
Professor
Office Phone: 263-5424
Email: bernault@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Culture and politics in Central Africa. Research in Congo, Gabon, Guinea, Niger, and Senegal.

Emily Callaci
Assistant Professor
Email: ejcallaci@wisc.edu
Academic Interests: Postcolonial Africa, Tanzania, East Africa, African Urban History, Gender and Sexuality, Popular Culture

Michael Chamberlain
Professor
Office Phone: 265-2673
Email: mchamber@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Medieval and modern Middle East. Research in Egypt.

Pernille Ipsen
Assistant Professor
Email: pipsen@wisc.edu
Academic research interests: West Africa and cultural encounters in the early modern Atlantic world, Atlantic slave trade, race, gender and women’s history.

Neil Kodesh
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 263-2395
Email: kodesh@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: East African history. Research in Uganda, Tanzania.

James Sweet
Professor
Office Phone: 265-2523
Email: jhsweet@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Research on the African Diaspora, Brazil, West and Central Africa.

HISTORY OF SCIENCE

Pablo Gomez
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 262-3414
Email:pgomez@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests:

Richard C. Keller
Professor
Office Phone: 263-7378
Email: rkeller@med.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Psychiatry and madness in colonial Africa; the history of modern psychiatry. Research in Tunisia and Algeria.

Gregg Mitman
Professor
Office Phone: 262-1723; 265-5296
Email: gmitman@med.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Environmental history, history of science and medicine, science and film. Research in Liberia.

INTERNATIONAL AGRICULTURE PROGRAMS

John Ferrick
Director
Office Phone: 265-3705
Email: jferrick@cals.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Experience in Uganda.

JOURNALISM AND MASS COMMUNICATION

Jo Ellen Fair
Professor
Office Phone: 263-2199
Email: jefair@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: International communications and the foreign press, media in developing countries. Research in Nigeria, Ghana, Namibia, Senegal, and Zambia.

LAW

Heinz Klug
Professor
Office Phone: 262-7370
Email: klug@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Constitutional, public, international, human rights, South African environmental, and post-apartheid law. Research in South Africa and Botswana.

LIBRARY

Emilie Songolo
Senior Academic Librarian
Office Phone: 265-4740
Email: engo@library.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Social sciences

MEDICAL HISTORY AND BIOETHICS

Pablo Gomez
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 262-3414
Email:pgomez@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests:

Richard C. Keller
Professor
Office Phone: 263-7378
Email: rkeller@med.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Psychiatry and madness in colonial Africa; the history of modern psychiatry. Research in Tunisia and Algeria.

NELSON INSTITUTE FOR ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES

Jeremy Foltz
Professor
Office Phone: 262-6871
Email: jdfoltz@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Macroeconomics of technology adoption, agricultural biotechnology, property rights, land use, and economic development. Research in Tunisia.

Tony L. Goldberg
Professor
Pathobiological Sciences
Office Phone: (608) 890-2618
Email: tgoldberg@vetmed.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Ecology‚ epidemiology, and evolution of infectious disease. Research in Uganda.

Richard C. Keller
Professor
Office Phone: 263-7378
Email: rkeller@med.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Psychiatry and madness in colonial Africa; the history of modern psychiatry. Research in Tunisia and Algeria.

Nancy Kendall
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 262-1760
Email: nkendall@education.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Comparative education; education and democratization; gender studies; HIV/AIDS education. Research in Malawi and Zimbabwe.

Gregg Mitman
Professor
Office Phone: 262-1723; 265-5296
Email: gmitman@med.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Environmental history, history of science and medicine, science and film. Research in Liberia.

Lisa Naughton
Professor
Office Phone: 262-4846
Email: lnaughto@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Forest and wildlife conservation and management policy. Research in Uganda and Kenya.

Larry Nesper
Professor
Office Phone: 265-1992
Email: lnesper@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Research in culture and identity, ethnicity, ethnohistory, political and legal anthropology, social and religious movements. Research in Senegal.

Rob Nixon
Professor
Office Phone: 263-3005
Email: rdnixon@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Postcolonial literatures and theory; nonfiction; African literature; cultural studies; environmentalism; literature on empire; critical theory. Research in South Africa.

Jess Reed
Professor
Office Phone: 263-4310
Email: reed@calshp.cals.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Livestock and crop production in agricultural development. Research in Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Gambia, and Zimbabwe.

Adrian Treves
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 890-1450
Email: atreves@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Wildlife management and conservation. Environmental planning and monitoring. Research in Uganda.

Matthew Turner
Professor
Office Phone: 262-2465/262-3657
Email: turner@geography.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Biogeography, cultural ecology, rangelands and livestock production systems in Africa. Research in Mali and Niger.

Don Waller
Professor
Office: (608) 263-2042
Email: dmwaller@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Conservation biology; international education and research; monitoring of ecological conditions, particularly in Central Africa (Cameroon, Gabon, and DRC).

PATHOBIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Bruce M Christensen
Professor
Office Phone: 262-3850
Email: christensen@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Parasitology and Medical Entomology; Mosquito; Parasite Interaction and Pathogenesis. Research in Egypt

Tony L. Goldberg
Professor
Pathobiological Sciences
Office Phone: (608) 890-2618
Email: tgoldberg@vetmed.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Ecology‚ epidemiology, and evolution of infectious disease. Research in Uganda.

Ogi Okwumabua
Clinical Professor
Office Phone: 262-4168
Email: ogi.okwumabua@wvdl.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Pathobiological sciences; microbiology. Animal diseases. Research in Nigeria.

PEDIATRICS

James H. Conway
Professor
Office Phone: 263-9941
Email: jhconway@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: HIV education; immunization training. Research in Uganda.

POLITICAL SCIENCE

Keisha Lindsay
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 263-2763
Email: knlindsay@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: black masculinity, intersectionality, black feminism, Caribbean politics

Michael Schatzberg
Professor
Office Phone: 263-2392
Email: schatzberg@polisci.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Comparative politics (Africa), international politics. Research in Cameroon, Uganda, Kenya, and Congo.

Scott Straus
Professor
Office Phone: 263-2036
Email: sstraus@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: African international relations, human rights. Research in Rwanda, Chad.

Aili Tripp
Professor
Office Phone: 263-1873
Email: atripp@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Comparative politics (Africa), gender and politics. Research in Tanzania, Uganda, Liberia and Angola.

POPULATION HEALTH SCIENCES

Ajay Sethi
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 263-1756
Email: aksethi@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Infectious disease, antiretroviral therapy, alcohol and substance use. Research in Uganda.

REAL ESTATE & URBAN LAND ECONOMICS

Moussa Diop
Assistant Professor
Email: mdiop@bus.wisc.edu
Academic research interests: Real estate, finance, and banking, globally and in Africa. Research in Senegal and South Africa.

SOCIOLOGY

Monica Grant
Assistant Professor
Email: grantm@ssc.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Demography and sociology of economic change and development, education, and gender in Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia

Gay Seidman
Professor
Office Phone: 263-3887
Email: seidman@ssc.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Sociology of development in Southern Africa and Latin America, political sociology. Research in Zimbabwe, Botswana, Swaziland, and South Africa.

SPANISH AND PORTUGUESE

Luis Madureira
Professor
Office Phone: 262-4969
Email: lmadurei@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Post- colonial literatures. Research in Mozambique.

Ellen Sapega
Professor
Office Phone: 262-3621
Email: ewsapega@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Lusophone colonial and post-colonial literature. Research in Cape Verde.

 

Retired faculty and staff are listed here.

Print Friendly