University of Wisconsin–Madison

Faculty and Staff by department

AFRICAN CULTURAL STUDIES

Matthew H. Brown
Assistant Professor
Email: mhbrown@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: African cinema, video and visual cultures; African literature, literary criticism and cultural theory; Media studies; Yoruba language and culture; The Global South

Damon Burchell-Sajnani
Assistant Professor
Email: dburchell@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Africana cultural studies; socio-political theory, HipHop studies and African HipHop, post-colonialism, globalization and diaspora research in Senegal

Samuel England
Assistant Professor
Email: sengland2@wisc.edu
Website
Aca­d­e­mic research inter­ests: Classical Ara­bic poetry, creative prose, and rhetoric; medieval court cultures of the Middle East and the western Mediterranean; modern Arabic literature; al-Andalus and Spain. Research in Egypt, the Maghreb, Spain, and Turkey.

Mustafa Mustafa
Associate Faculty
Office Phone: 890-2098
Email: mamustafa@wisc.edu
Website

Tejumola Olaniyan
Professor
Office Phone: 262-8168
Email: tolaniyan@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: African and African diaspora literature. Literary theory. Research in the African diaspora.

Reginold Royston
Anna Julia Cooper Postdoctoral Fellow
Email: rroyston@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Internet citizenship, African mobile apps, IT infrastructure and media in Africa. Research in Ghana.

Katrina Thompson
Professor
Office Phone: 262-6537
Email: kdthomp3@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: African languages, popular verbal arts, critical discourse studies, language socialization, gender and sexuality, Islam, LCTL pedagogy, learner autonomy. Research in Zimbabwe, Tanzania, and Kenya.

AFRICAN STUDIES PROGRAM

Aleia McCord
Associate Director
Office Phone: 262-4461
Email: aleia.mccord@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Anaerobic digestion in Uganda. Research in Uganda.

AFRO-AMERICAN STUDIES

Sandra Adell
Professor
Office Phone: 263-0425
Email: saadell@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Black literature, modern narrative, literary theory and criticism, continental French literature and philosophy of the twentieth century.

Henry Drewal
Professor
Office Phone: 263-9362
Email: hjdrewal@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: African and African Diaspora art, artistic traditions of the African diaspora in Brazil. Research in Nigeria, South Africa, Benin, Togo, Senegal, Brazil, Cuba, Puerto Rico, and India

AGRICULTURAL AND APPLIED ECONOMICS

Jean-Paul Chavas
Professor
Office Phone: 261-1944
Email: jchavas@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Food policy reform. Research in Burkina Faso, Madagascar, Tunisia

Jeremy Foltz
Professor
Office Phone: 262-6871
Email: jdfoltz@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Macroeconomics of technology adoption, agricultural biotechnology, property rights, land use, and economic development. Research in Tunisia.

ANIMAL SCIENCE

Jess Reed
Professor
Office Phone: 263-4310
Email: reed@calshp.cals.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Livestock and crop production in agricultural development. Research in Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Gambia, and Zimbabwe.

ANTHROPOLOGY

Henry Bunn
Professor
Office Phone: 263-6854
Email: htbunn@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Human culture, archeology. Paleontological and archeological research in Kenya, Tanzania, Botswana, and Somalia

Richard McFarland
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 262-7395
Email: richard.mcfarland@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Animal physiology and sociability. Research in South Africa.

Larry Nesper
Professor
Office Phone: 265-1992
Email: lnesper@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Research in culture and identity, ethnicity, ethnohistory, political and legal anthropology, social and religious movements. Research in Senegal.

Travis Pickering
Professor
Office Phone: 262-5818
Email: tpickering@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Ecology and evolutionary biology of early hominids in South and East Africa. Research in South Africa, Tanzania, Ethiopia.

Claire Wendland
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 262-3874
Email: cwendland@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Biomedicine in non-Western setting, cross-cultural ethics and communication. Research in Malawi.

ART HISTORY

Henry Drewal
Professor
Office Phone: 263-9362
Email: hjdrewal@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: African and African Diaspora art, artistic traditions of the African diaspora in Brazil. Research in Nigeria, South Africa, Benin, Togo, Senegal, Brazil, Cuba, Puerto Rico, and India

ASTRONOMY

Eric Wilcots
Professor
Office Phone: 262-2364/262-3071
Email: ewilcots@astro.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Southern African Large Telescope (SALT). Research in South Africa.

BIOCHEMISTRY

James Mukasa Ntambi
Professor
Office Phone: 265-3700
Email: ntambi@biochem.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Human and animal nutrition. Research in Uganda.

BOTANY

Don Waller
Professor
Office: (608) 263-2042
Email: dmwaller@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Conservation biology; international education and research; monitoring of ecological conditions, particularly in Central Africa (Cameroon, Gabon, and DRC).

CIVIL & ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING

Paul Block
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 263-8792
Website

COMMUNICATION ARTS

Kelley Conway
Professor
Office Phone: 263-3977
Email: kelleyconway@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Francophone film, gender and cinema, African film.

Jonathan Gray
Professor
Office Phone: 263-2541
Email: jagray3@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Film, television, and music circulation and reception in Malawi

COMMUNITY & ENVIRONMENTAL SOCIOLOGY

Josh Garoon
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 890-0981
Email: garoon@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Environmental determinants of health; community and economic development; biodiversity conservation and management. Research in Zambia.

CONSUMER SCIENCE

Cynthia Jasper
Professor
Office Phone: 262-2384
Email: crjasper@wisc.edu
Website

CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION

Margaret Hawkins
Professor
Office Phone: 263-4667
Email: mhawkins@education.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Sociocultural and sociopolitical approaches to languages and literacy.

Gloria Ladson-Billings
Professor
Office Phone: 263-1006
Email: gjladson@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Multicultural education. Social studies in elementary education

Thomas Popkewitz
Professor
Office Phone: 263-7343
Email: tspopkew@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Educational research and evaluation, educational reform/change, curriculum theory, teacher education. Research in South Africa.

DANCE

Christopher A. Walker
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 262-6637
Email: cawalker2@wisc.edu
Website

DESIGN STUDIES

Mary A. Hark
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 262-1367
Email: hark@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Fiber/Textile design. Research in Ghana.

EDUCATIONAL POLICY STUDIES

Lesley Bartlett
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 262-2091
Email: lbartlett2@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: comparative and international education; anthropology of education; migration; literacy studies

Nancy Kendall
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 262-1760
Email: nkendall@education.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Comparative education; education and democratization; gender studies; HIV/AIDS education. Research in Malawi and Zimbabwe.

Amy Stambach
Professor
Office Phone: 890-1114
Email: aestambach@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Gender and educational policy; cultural analyses; comparative and international education. Research in Tanzania.

ENGLISH

Tejumola Olaniyan
Professor
Office Phone: 262-8168
Email: tolaniyan@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: African and African diaspora literature. Literary theory. Research in the African diaspora.

Nirvana Tanoukhi
Assistant Professor
Email: tanoukhi@wisc.edu
Academic research interests: The African Novel, Postcolonial Literature, History and Theory of the Novel, Narrative Theory, Literary Geography, Formalisms and Contextualisms, Comparison

FAMILY MEDICINE

Cindy Haq
Professor
Email: clhaq@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: primary health care, family medicine education/program development, community and public health, and design/evaluation of training for health professionals in medically undeserved settings

FRENCH AND ITALIAN

Vlad Dima
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: (608) 262-4074
Email: dima@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: French New Wave cinema, Francophone cinemas, film theory, Hitchcock, Tarantino/American auteur cinema, television studies, Quebec novel, theater of the absurd, zombies

Nevine El-Nossery
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 262-7940
Email: elnossery@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Francophone literatures and postcolonial studies; French Canadian literature; women and exile. Research on North Africa.

GENDER & WOMEN’S STUDIES

Araceli Alonso
Associate Faculty
Email: aalonso@wisc.edu
Website

Pernille Ipsen
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 770-9843
Email: pipsen@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: West Africa and cultural encounters in the early modern Atlantic world, Atlantic slave trade, race, gender and women’s history.

Keisha Lindsay
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 263-2763
Email: knlindsay@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Black masculinity, intersectionality, black feminism, Caribbean politics.

Aili Tripp
Professor
Office Phone: 890-3890
Email: atripp@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Comparative politics (Africa), gender and politics. Research in Tanzania, Uganda, Liberia and Angola.

GEOGRAPHY

Lisa Naughton
Professor
Office Phone: 262-4846
Email: lnaughto@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Forest and wildlife conservation and management policy. Research in Uganda and Kenya.

Matthew Turner
Professor
Office Phone: 262-2465/262-3657
Email: turner@geography.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Biogeography, cultural ecology, rangelands and livestock production systems in Africa. Research in Mali and Niger.

GLOBAL HEALTH INSTITUTE

Jonathan Patz
Professor and Director
Office Phone: 262-4775
Email: patz@wisc.edu
Website

HISTORY

Emily Callaci
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 262-6046
Email: ejcallaci@wisc.edu
Website
Academic Interests: Postcolonial Africa, Tanzania, East Africa, African Urban History, Gender and Sexuality, Popular Culture

Pernille Ipsen
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 770-9843
Email: pipsen@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: West Africa and cultural encounters in the early modern Atlantic world, Atlantic slave trade, race, gender and women’s history.

Neil Kodesh
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 263-2395
Email: kodesh@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: East African history. Research in Uganda, Tanzania.

James Sweet
Professor
Office Phone: 265-2523
Email: jhsweet@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Research on the African Diaspora, Brazil, West and Central Africa.

HISTORY OF SCIENCE

Pablo Gomez
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 262-3414
Email:pgomez@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: History of Medicine and Science in the Atlantic World; History of Medicine and Science in Latin America; History of Medicine and Science and the African Diaspora; Early modern corporeal epistemologies; Race and medicine.

Richard C Keller
Professor
Office Phone: 263-7378
Email: rkeller@med.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Psychiatry and madness in colonial Africa; the history of modern psychiatry. Research in Tunisia and Algeria.

Gregg Mitman
Professor
Office Phone: 262-9140
Email: gmitman@med.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Environmental history, history of science and medicine, science and film. Research in Liberia.

INTERIOR ARCHITECTURE

Lesley Sager
Faculty Associate
Office Phone: 890-3265
Email: lhsager@wisc.edu
Website

INTERNATIONAL AGRICULTURE PROGRAMS

John Ferrick
Director
Office Phone: 265-3705
Email: jferrick@cals.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Experience in Uganda.

JOURNALISM AND MASS COMMUNICATION

Lindsay Palmer
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 709-6593
Email: lpalmer2@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Use of mobile phones and Internet in rural Zambia, press freedom in Zambia, crisis mapping initiatives in Kenya, and the cultural labor of local stringers and fixers across the African continent.

LAW

Heinz Klug
Professor
Office Phone: 262-7370
Email: klug@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Constitutional, public, international, human rights, South African environmental, and post-apartheid law. Research in South Africa and Botswana.

LIBRARY

Emilie Songolo
Senior Academic Librarian
Memorial Library
Office Phone: 265-4740
Email: engo@library.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Social Sciences Librarian

MEDICAL HISTORY AND BIOETHICS

Pablo Gomez
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 262-3414
Email:pgomez@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: History of Medicine and Science in the Atlantic World; History of Medicine and Science in Latin America; History of Medicine and Science and the African Diaspora; Early modern corporeal epistemologies; Race and medicine.

Richard C Keller
Professor
Office Phone: 263-7378
Email: rkeller@med.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Psychiatry and madness in colonial Africa; the history of modern psychiatry. Research in Tunisia and Algeria.

NELSON INSTITUTE FOR ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES

Jeremy Foltz
Professor
Office Phone: 262-6871
Email: jdfoltz@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Macroeconomics of technology adoption, agricultural biotechnology, property rights, land use, and economic development. Research in Tunisia.

Tony L. Goldberg
Professor
Office Phone: (608) 890-2618
Email: tgoldberg@vetmed.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Ecology‚ epidemiology, and evolution of infectious disease. Research in Uganda.

Richard C Keller
Professor
Office Phone: 263-7378
Email: rkeller@med.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Psychiatry and madness in colonial Africa; the history of modern psychiatry. Research in Tunisia and Algeria.

Nancy Kendall
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 262-1760
Email: nkendall@education.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Comparative education; education and democratization; gender studies; HIV/AIDS education. Research in Malawi and Zimbabwe.

Gregg Mitman
Professor
Office Phone: 262-9140
Email: gmitman@med.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Environmental history, history of science and medicine, science and film. Research in Liberia.

Lisa Naughton
Professor
Office Phone: 262-4846
Email: lnaughto@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Forest and wildlife conservation and management policy. Research in Uganda and Kenya.

Larry Nesper
Professor
Office Phone: 265-1992
Email: lnesper@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Research in culture and identity, ethnicity, ethnohistory, political and legal anthropology, social and religious movements. Research in Senegal.

Jess Reed
Professor
Office Phone: 263-4310
Email: reed@calshp.cals.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Livestock and crop production in agricultural development. Research in Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Gambia, and Zimbabwe.

Adrian Treves
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 890-1450
Email: atreves@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Wildlife management and conservation. Environmental planning and monitoring. Research in Uganda.

Matthew Turner
Professor
Office Phone: 262-2465/262-3657
Email: turner@geography.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Biogeography, cultural ecology, rangelands and livestock production systems in Africa. Research in Mali and Niger.

Don Waller
Professor
Office: (608) 263-2042
Email: dmwaller@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Conservation biology; international education and research; monitoring of ecological conditions, particularly in Central Africa (Cameroon, Gabon, and DRC).

PATHOBIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Bruce M Christensen
Professor
Office Phone: 262-3850
Email: christensen@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Parasitology and Medical Entomology; Mosquito; Parasite Interaction and Pathogenesis. Research in Egypt

Tony L. Goldberg
Professor
Office Phone: (608) 890-2618
Email: tgoldberg@vetmed.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Ecology‚ epidemiology, and evolution of infectious disease. Research in Uganda.

Ogi Okwumabua
Clinical Professor
Office Phone: 262-4168
Email: ogi.okwumabua@wvdl.wisc.edu
Academic research interests: Pathobiological sciences; microbiology. Animal diseases. Research in Nigeria.

PEDIATRICS

James H Conway
Professor
Office Phone: 263-3854 (GHI)/ 265-6050(Peds)
Email: jhconway@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: HIV education; immunization training. Research in Uganda.

POLITICAL SCIENCE

Keisha Lindsay
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 263-2763
Email: knlindsay@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Black masculinity, intersectionality, black feminism, Caribbean politics.

Scott Straus
Professor
Office Phone: 263-2036
Email: sstraus@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: African international relations, human rights. Research in Rwanda, Chad.

Aili Tripp
Professor
Office Phone: 890-3890
Email: atripp@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Comparative politics (Africa), gender and politics. Research in Tanzania, Uganda, Liberia and Angola.

POPULATION HEALTH SCIENCES

Ajay Sethi
Associate Professor
Office Phone: 263-1756
Email: aksethi@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Infectious disease, antiretroviral therapy, alcohol and substance use. Research in Uganda.

REAL ESTATE & URBAN LAND ECONOMICS

Moussa Diop
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 262-3409
Email: mdiop@bus.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Real estate, finance, and banking, globally and in Africa. Research in Senegal and South Africa.

SOCIOLOGY

Monica Grant
Assistant Professor
Office Phone: 262-6261
Email: grantm@ssc.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Demography and sociology of economic change and development, education, and gender in Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia

Gay Seidman
Professor
Office Phone: 263-3887
Email: seidman@ssc.wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Sociology of development in Southern Africa and Latin America, political sociology. Research in Zimbabwe, Botswana, Swaziland, and South Africa.

SPANISH AND PORTUGUESE

Luis Madureira
Professor
Office Phone: 262-2093
Email: lmadurei@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Post- colonial literatures. Research in Mozambique.

Ellen Sapega
Professor
Office Phone: 262-3621
Email: ewsapega@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Lusophone colonial and post-colonial literature. Research in Cape Verde.

URBAN AND REGIONAL PLANNING

James LaGro
Professor
Office Phone: 263-6507
Email: jalagro@wisc.edu
Website
Academic research interests: Land use dynamics and landscape changes.

 

Retired faculty and staff are listed here.